Laugh? They nearly died…

I knew it wouldn’t be long before the jokes started about this morning’s tragic crash in Vauxhall. I woke up to this news and it has quite rightly had hours of live coverage, as two people died and several more were injured, some badly.

I’m not going to say anything about the need for warning lights on top of cranes, because that’s so obvious that it goes without saying and the local authorities should have sorted it out months ago. What I will say is that it never fails to amaze me that so many people seem to find it funny to send jokes winging back and forth within mere hours of a tragedy like this one. I remember in 1997 when Princess Diana was killed. There were the jokes, predictable as ever. I didn’t listen then, and I won’t listen now. I can’t believe anyone would actually find it amusing to even think up these so-called jokes (correct me if I’m wrong, but I thought jokes were supposed to be funny, and people dying in tragic circumstances is never funny).

I may be way off the mark, here, but I’d bet a significant amount of money that those who are laughing wouldn’t be fucking laughing if someone they knew or loved had been killed or hurt, this morning. If they had been there to witness the helicopter coming down. If they had been the ones fleeing the fire, abandoning their cars before they exploded, running away from falling debris, being evacuated from their homes until it was deemed safe to go back in.

So, if you’re thinking of passing on a ‘joke’, think about it. If you’d lost someone you loved, would you like it if people laughed? No. Thought not.

Leave a Reply

