Being Human

So, I’ve just watched the first episode of series four. Being Human, the brainchild of writer Toby Whithouse, tugs on so many heartstrings it’s a wonder viewers have any tears left in them.

Like a lot of people, I suspect, I was sceptical about this series. Mitchell was killed at the end of series three, Nina’s been written out, killed off-screen, and even George was known not to go beyond the first episode. This left only Annie from the original series. As I sat and watched it (on my own, which was just as well, because it made me bawl so much a small child would call me a crybaby), all my doubts dispersed into mist, like a newly-staked vampire, as the writing and acting once again blew my fucking socks off.

I won’t give away spoilers – they’re called spoilers for a reason and if you haven’t watched this episode yet, it will ruin it for you. But I will say that, brilliant though the writing is, you really do need to have seen the first three series for much of it to make sense. But that’s OK, because Toby W very rightly assumed that viewers tuning into this series would be hardcore followers of the lives of these characters and would know what was going on. Which, needless to say, I did, and that was why it had the effect on me that it did.

Writing like this is the reason we should be proud, here in the UK, of our drama. Many say that US drama is better, more hard-hitting, better-written, and in many cases, that’s true. But Being Human, like Hustle, is written and acted brilliantly. Flawless writing that I’d be proud to put my name to.

I wait with baited breath for episode two.

Leave a Reply

