Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes, turn and face the strain

So, I met up with Lizzie at the High Voltage Festival. We had a very girlie time, catching up, giggling (a lot), drinking coffee and stirring it with a plastic Biro, traipsing across a field to see different bands and then standing arm in arm to watch Thunder’s set. We even saw the guy who plays Sam in True Blood, not six feet from us. Rock on. It was so good to see her after so long. She looked amazing and seemed happier than when I last saw her after her band’s penultimate gig in Winchester at the end of 2007. Emotional times, emotional memories, but we have to go through these things in order to develop. Things like this also make you look at yourself in a different way and work out where your priorities lie. One of my main priorities is maintaining that closeness to my friends, and some friends in particular.

Scotland was an amazing time for me. I shan’t go into too much detail, as a lot of what happened was personal to me and the bestie and it’s not something I feel I can go into in a public blog post. But it was great to see Alison and Jamie again, I caught up with Colleen for an evening, went to Loch Ness (where I find the ultimate peace), went to Corpach to visit the Treasures of the Earth museum (bestie neglected to tell me, until it was obvious, that there was a gift shop – with CRYSTALS!!! I was like a kid, looking at crystals, drawn to a particular one and then discovering it was related to selenite – my favourite – so I bought it). It was good to see the Ben again, too, as we were only three miles from Fort William. Where it always rains. Except when the bestie goes there. It’s true, she said it never rains when she goes there and, fuck me, it never did. We had blazing sunshine all day. While I was in Scotland, I realised a few things. One in particular. I was in love. I shan’t go into detail here, as it’s not public business, but for now let’s just say things are going well and leave it at that, shall we? Yes. OK.

Anyway, on the 13th of August, FWC had an inter-club competition, where I had been persuaded to enter the hard and soft style patterns categories (thanks, Kristina, you are a nag!). I went up, did my thing, came back. Not as nervous as I thought I’d be, but I was glad when it was done. In the afternoon, there was the sparring tournament, which I hadn’t entered because I hadn’t sparred in months. It just wasn’t worth it and I would have looked like an idiot and possibly got a black eye. Despite that, Sharmin won the gold in the lightweight category (yay!), Kristina won silver (double yay!), Sheila won gold in the medium weight category (triple yay!), and Kristina also won gold in the hard and soft style patterns (quadruple yay!). So it was a fabulous day, all in all, not least because I got some good news that morning and was walking on clouds for the rest of the day. (Laz – that was thanks to you xxx).

So, now, life has turned around, somewhat. Things change, people change, situations change. I like change. Just as well, really. I’m a stronger person than I was before, though I was already pretty OK, there. I’m more confident, certainly. And this afternoon, I rang my good friend Dee to tell her what’s been happening, and it’s always a delight to talk to her and catch up. Hello, Dee. (And hello John, Betty, Ria et al.) Good friends, as I’ve recently been reminded strongly, are invaluable and perfectly indispensable. Do not take them for granted. Ever. You never know when you might need them.

6 thoughts on “Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes, turn and face the strain

  1. Laz says:

    Hm, very cryptic with the ‘in love’ / ‘walking on clouds’ references there. So here’s my take; this is what I wrote in an email to a friend on that fateful day…. it’s kind of a condensed version, of course…

    “I think I have a girlfriend now. Pretty sure, actually. Still kind of in shock… basically, remember my writer friend I mentioned last time with the crazy stalking ex? […]

    “Well, we’ve been hanging out a bit cos she does kung fu in london, and brighton is kind of on the way, so she’s been staying at a friend’s house, and the next day we go for coffee. four times now. We’ve always got on well… She’s been talking to me a lot about stuff, especially about stuff to do with boys (she met one she really liked and got very into it and then he ended it and she was upset) but also other stuff. You know the kind of thing…

    “Well, we were emailing the other day about how it’s hard to read men / women, and i told her that I couldn’t read women, for example I had no idea what’d happen if I tried to kiss her (it was in context, don’t worry!). It was kinda just an illustration, but she’s cute, and I like her a lot, so, yeah…

    “Anyway, it turned out she’d been recently starting to think of me in that way, and then when she read that she got all excited, and then we met up and it was fun like usual, i didn’t think anything of it, really, Walked her to the station to say goodbye… she started just looking at me… in a certain way. Made herself very obvious, it was funny. So we had a good snog. And then parted ways.

    “I was just thinking, ooh, that was nice… not reading too much into it. Anyway i told her i didn’t know what to make of it, we ended up agreeing it was just a lovely kiss, so that was cool, nothing to worry about.

    “But then the next day (friday) she started texting etc saying she wanted to be with me etc, and that she was feeling very horny and all. That freaked me out. Asked her if she was talking about a Relationship, kind of thing, she said, yes, that’s what i want.

    “Spent last night thinking about it, is it a good idea etc… Texted her this morning to say yes, just before her kung fu competition thing. So apparently she was grinning a lot and her instructor noticed and so on. Anyway, I’m quite excited now. No games or bullshit. She’s some kind of goth / hippie / wiccan type, but it’s okay to take the piss out of her. And she talks way too much for me to handle, but she knows that and she knows I like my own space. So hopefully it’ll be great. Anyway… bit weird.

    All this happened about 12 hours ago.

    now i have to flush all that from my head and get some writing done.”

  2. Thanks for that, sweet stuff. You’ve told the story for me. If it doesn’t bother you this all being in a public blog, it certainly doesn’t bother me. After all, if we’re gonna do this, we may as well do it properly.

    xxx

  3. Laz says:

    Why would any of that bother me? I don’t get it.

    You’ve built it up so much on twitter now that the public deserves some kind of an explanation. You can’t cop out, man!

    Anyway, I don’t plan to be a second blogger on here, that’d be kinda creepy. Later. x

  4. Jen says:

    Nice to see that life is good and getting so much better for you. You are so right about the importance of good friends. I don’t have any friends at all and it leaves me with a huge hole in my soul.

  5. Jen says:

    Yeah it kinda is but such is life. Will keep reading etc.. like I said I enjoy reading blogs including your own and we will have to stay in touch as we said before xx

Leave a Reply

