NaNoWriMo

Yes, I’ve finally gone and done it.  NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, began in the US and spread around the world, and now I’m involved, as well.  The title is Mirror and the Soul, which I shall start writing at midnight tonight (1st of November) as per the stated rules of NaNo.  I have some unnamed characters, a basic plot and a theme, but that’s all for now.

The aim is to notch up 50,000 words in 30 days, therefore being disciplined about the writing is imperative if you don’t want to have to say, ‘I failed.’  1,667 words per day will get me there, but I want to aim for more, as per Stephen King’s advice in ‘On Writing’ – at least 2,000 per day.

With my obsession with kung fu and a penchant for fairy tales, I’ve decided to combine the two.  Whether it’s any good remains to be seen, and nor does it even matter.  Editing comes later, once all the novels have been uploaded to the NaNo site.

I met the guys from the local region last night, at the launch, making it all very real, what I’ve let myself in for, and also making me realise how much I miss my old writers’ circle in Portsmouth.  I was buzzing as I walked home, having spent an evening with people who actually knew what I meant when I told them a character has been nagging at me for years, who are, like many (all?) writers, myself included, a bit weird.  In the nicest possible way.

So, tonight I shall be knuckling down to begin my kung fu tale of sliced heads, spurting blood and high kicks, as well as some Zen and meditation, weapons, fists and energy, to reach the ultimate goal.  In this tale, it’s not enlightenment; it’s a completion.  Yin and yang.  Bring it on.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

